Through the eyes of a teacher, I’m always looking in the world for teachable moments – moments I can use in a classroom to get a message across. When something happens with my students I think about how to turn it into a lesson. When something goes on in the world I think about how to turn it into something I can teach the students about.

But I think it’s important to look at the world from the perspective of a learner as well. What can the world teach me? What can I learn from my students (instead of the other way around)?

I’ve written many times in assignments and philosophies of education that I’m a “life-long learner” and one of my goals as a teacher is to inspire my students to want to be life-long learners as well. Now, I want to look closer at the world and see what it actually has to teach me. Because right now, it seems like the world is trying to teach me that everything is scary and things are too hard – when I know logically that doesn’t have to be the case.

Please, world, teach me something valuable. And let me receive it well.

// Sorry this post has sort of turned into a bit of a brain dump, but isn’t that one of the things blogging is all about? I mean, here I am trying to get my thoughts across in words and I’m just thinking of more and more STUFF.

I’m thinking about how I can’t be a great teacher if I’m not a great learner. And I’m feeling like a terrible learner right now because everything has become so much harder. My anxiety is going back up, I’m hating living alone again, daily tasks are becoming harder again, I’m sleeping all the time, and I’m feeling like a failure of a tutor.

But I’m LEARNING. I swear I’m trying to learn. I’m trying to learn how to be better.

