This past week’s photo challenge was called “fun!” which I thought could be quite fun to do. The problem is when things don’t seem as fun as they used to, or you’re too stressed to really be looking for the fun moments in every day life.

I wrote a page in my little notebook of ideas that I might do for this topic, but really none of them ended up happening because I was too focused on other things – how anxious I was feeling in a particular moment, the nausea I’ve been experiencing the past couple of days, the things I need to get done, or wanting to make other people feel better.

I asked my parents to visit me last weekend. I don’t have any money right now and I asked them to come buy me groceries. But not only that, I was lonely. I wanted to see my family. I wanted to go on a walk with them, eat at a restaurant, spend some time with people that I don’t get to see nearly as often as I would like. We walked in Hamilton by the water and it wasn’t necessarily anything that special but it was really, really nice. When we got to the end of the walk (before turning around and walking back to the car), we stopped to just take it all in. It had been so incredibly humid and everything felt sticky and gross. We took a picture of us by the water for my dad to use for his Geocaching log. Then I goofed off.

tumblr_obx6a3F3ib1rh89yto1_540

Sometimes it’s hard to find the fun in every day. I want to try harder though, because this picture is just so silly and I love it. I need to realize that I don’t need to take every moment so seriously. Sometimes the best moments are the fun, silly ones – spending time with your family and making faces under a tree.

Make silly faces at yourself, take pictures from unflattering angles, don’t care about your appearance, spend time with people who love you, eat yummy foods, HAVE FUN.

