For this week’s photo challenge, morning, I brainstormed some nice ideas about drinking coffee at the kitchen table, reading the newspaper, doing something productive in the A.M.

The problem is, I don’t do any of those things. I especially am not going to drink a mug of hot tea or coffee in this weather. It’s way too hot for something like that. What do I do in the morning? I lie in bed until I’m too hot to get out, I brush my hair and have a cool shower, and I make my way downstairs trying to convince myself to eat a bagel or something. It’s not really “picture perfect” and I didn’t want to post something that was some false image of myself.

tumblr_obhnitFr7Q1rh89yto1_540

This is a picture taken from my bedroom window at 1:30 a.m. It was taken on my phone and it isn’t some photographic masterpiece or anything.

I tried to go to sleep early last night and that didn’t take away from my daily 1 a.m. wake up. As I sat in my bed awake in the dark, the unfortunate smell of skunk (or maybe it was bad weed) flooding my room, I thought about how it’s morning right now. Morning can be all of those lovely things mentioned above, the mugs and the news, but it can also be the darkness of the middle of the night. This isn’t the time of morning when your housemates would walk down the hall, groggy and tired, mumbling “good morning” to you as you see who gets to use the bathroom first. It’s the time of morning when those housemates are most likely asleep, dreaming about something, tossing and turning in their bed, and preparing themselves for the day ahead of them. Since my housemates are not around, for me it is the time of morning when I inevitably wake up, remember that I’m alone in the house, and reflect on that aloneness. Then, I try to get back to sleep because I don’t like reflecting on the aloneness. It’s lonely.

