How come “I’m sorry” is so hard to say? Is it because it’s so hard to admit to yourself that you’ve made a mistake or done something wrong? Because it’s not like it’s hard to tell yourself that you’re garbage or just drown in thoughts of self-hatred.

Why is it even harder to say it to yourself?

{an exercise in saying sorry to myself}

I’m sorry. I’m sorry I can’t understand you the way that you want me to – I know it’s confusing. I’m sorry I’ve done some of those things that weren’t good for you. I’m sorry I don’t feed you well. I’m sorry I made those marks and think about doing it all the time. I’m sorry I don’t do the things that make you happy. Mostly, though, I think I’m sorry for not validating you. Validating yourself is so freaking difficult and I’m really trying to do better at a lot of things. I’m sorry I can’t apply logic to things.

{a promise to myself}

I promise to try.

